A SIMPLE question asked by most iPhone apps has been exposed as some kind of spy scam.
Not every app should be allowed this information – here’s how to get your privacy back.
Using an app for the first time usually means asking if you want to allow the app to access certain features on your phone and change your information.
TikTok or Instagram may ask to use the camera, but probably won’t need access to your location, for example.
The data apps collect is often used to share data with marketing and advertising companies without you knowing, CNET said.
Apple and Facebook have filed previous lawsuits for such cases, according to the outlet.
Any permission you have given to these apps can be revoked.
If you have iOS 16 or later, go to your settings.
Then tap on Privacy and Security.
You can see which apps have been given access to these features through categories such as Photos, Camera, and even Contacts.
The slider next to each of these apps that have access will remove that access.
Access to location data also falls under Privacy & Security.
To change this, just tap on Location Services and get control over which applications can access your location, or disable them all together.
Share My Location can be used to enable or disable Find My iPhone and select which iPhone contacts you share your location with.